Board of Directors

Duane Austin
A graduate of Michigan State University and the University of Wisconsin, Duke Austin taught high school and coached basketball and football at his high school alma mater. A retired Colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves, Mr. Austin worked in public relations at the Federal Communications Commission and as Senior Spokesman for the Immigration and Naturalization Service until his retirement in 1995.

Douglas E. Caton
Mr. Caton is the CEO of Management Services Corporation of Charlottesville, Virginia, a regional commercial real estate management, construction and development company. He is also Chairman of the Board of Guaranty Bank, a community bank in central Virginia, and a retired Major General in the United States Army Reserve. He is a graduate of the University of Virginia and the United States Army War College and received his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Virginia School of Law.

Don Collins – Chairman
Mr. Collins was a senior level engineer manager in the computer industry and holds 55 patents. His research and development teams designed and supported production of over a million products installed worldwide. In his 35 year career in the tech industry, Mr. Collins witnessed abuse of the H1-B visa program to displace American workers for financial gain. He also serves on the board of directors for the International Services Assistance Fund. Mr. Collins is a graduate of Temple University and holds his Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from National Technological University.

James Dorcy
A 30-year veteran of the Immigration and Naturalization Service and Department of Justice, Jim served for fourteen years in the Border Patrol, where he was elected president of the National Border Patrol Union, and was frequently called upon to testify before House and Senate committee hearings on immigration issues. He further served the Justice Department in a variety of investigative roles. Since his retirement, Jim has been active in the International Police Association and has traveled widely examining immigration enforcement policies of other nations.

Sarah G. Epstein
Ms. Epstein is an art lecturer and volunteer. She serves on the boards of several non-profit organizations, including Pathfinder International, Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan Washington, Center for Development and Population Activities and The Population Institute. She has served as a volunteer for the Urban League and as an organizer for civil rights marches in Washington, D.C. She is a graduate of Oberlin College and Simmons School of Social Work.

Dale M. Herder, Ph.D.
Dr. Herder lectured and consulted in the United Arab Emirates, the Republic of Georgia, Germany, England, Italy, New Zealand, Taiwan, Japan, and Canada. He served as an enlisted man and commissioned officer at sea in the U.S. Navy and retired with the rank of Commander. A former Fulbright Fellow in West Germany, he earned his undergraduate and graduate degrees in history and English at Michigan State University. He has served as a high school principal, English professor, department chair, dean, academic vice president, and interim college president.

Frank Morris, Ph.D.
Dr. Morris has held a position in the U.S. State Department as well as served as the Executive Director of the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation. More recently, he served as the dean of graduate studies and research at Morgan State University. Dr. Morris received his undergraduate degree from Colgate University and he earned his MPA degree at Syracuse University. He earned a Ph.D. in political science from MIT.

S. Blake Swensrud, II
Blake Swensrud is a businessman, entrepreneur, and investor. He has built businesses in more than a dozen countries, and has worked in more than 30 across the Americas, Asia, Europe and Africa with a primary focus on wireless and mobile communications. Swensrud began his career at CSIS, a Washington DC foreign policy “Think Tank.” Swensrud received his BA in International Studies from Tufts University, and has a graduate degree in Science, Technology and Public Policy from George Washington University’s Elliot School of International Affairs. Mr. Swensrud’s interest in immigration policy derives in large part from his years of international travel and business experience.


National Board of Advisors

  • Nancy Anthony
  • Hon. Louis Barletta
  • Sharon Barnes
  • Gwat Bhattacharjie
  • Gerda Bikales
  • Hon. Brian Bilbray (Co-Chair)
  • J. Bayard Boyle, Jr.
  • Hugh Brien
  • John Brock
  • William W. Chip, Esq.
  • Pat Choate, Ph.D.
  • Donald Collins, Sr. (Co-Chair)
  • Clifford Colwell, M.D.
  • Thomas Connolly
  • Kevin Donaleski
  • Alfred P. Doyle, M.D.
  • Dino Drudi
  • Paul Egan
  • Don Feder
  • Robert Gillespie
  • Otis W. Graham, Jr., Ph.D.
  • Joseph R. Guzzardi
  • Robert E. Hannay
  • Hessie Harris
  • Diana Hull, Ph.D.
  • Glenn Jackson
  • Carol Joyal
  • Hon. Richard Lamm
  • Roy C. Lierman
  • Donald Mann
  • K.C. McAlpin
  • Joel McCleary
  • Scott McConnell
  • James G. McDonald, Esq.
  • Paul K. Nachman
  • Peter Nunez
  • Robert D. Park
  • Fred Pinkham, Ph.D.
  • Randy Pullen
  • Bruce S. Reid
  • Teela Roche
  • David P. Schippers, Esq.
  • Hon. Alan Simpson
  • John Philip Sousa, IV
  • John Tanton, M.D.
  • Alan N. Weeden
  • Hon. Curtin Winsor, Jr.